Uganda: Part Five

We had our bags packed and were checked out of the Lodge by six o’clock Saturday morning in the hopes of seeing as many animals as possible. As we drove in search of wildlife we got to see the sun rise over the African plains!

Sunrise

The big discovery of the morning was the lions. Xavier, our guide, told us that many times people come and don’t even get to see them at all, so, it was quite a gift from the Lord, to get up so close to two, large, males. They seemed to take little notice of us, but, things sure got quiet in our van!

Do you see the other lion in the corner chomping down on his morning steak?

Do you see the other lion in the corner chomping down on his morning steak?

Cape Buffalo

Cape Buffalo

I thought the kobs were the prettiest of the deer species we saw herds of.

I thought the kobs were the prettiest of the deer species we saw herds of.

We had a gorgeous view of the Albert Nile. The hills in the distance are the Congo.

We had a gorgeous view of the Albert Nile. The hills in the distance are the Congo.

The giraffes were always at some distance. But, we got to see them! And they were my favorite for being both unique and beautiful.

The giraffes were always at some distance. But, we did get to see them! And they were my favorites for being both unique AND beautiful.

The hartebeest had long, expressive faces.

The hartebeest had long, expressive faces.

As we headed out so early, the Lodge packed us breakfast to take along. This is just my portion; I couldn't manage all that bread! But, the hard-boiled egg (which I cracked by dropping it on the floor), sausage (tastes like hot dogs) and mango juice was terrific. :)

As we headed out so early, the Lodge packed us breakfast to take along. This is just my portion; I could only manage a bit of all that bread. But, the hard-boiled egg (which I cracked by dropping it on the floor), sausage (tastes like hot dogs) and mango juice was terrific. 🙂

Handsome Mister Kob Deer.

Handsome Mister Kob Deer

We saw many different types of birds. I was informed of the names of all of them, but, I really don't recall....

We saw many different types of birds. I was informed of the names of all of them, but, that knowledge escapes me….

Water Fowl

Dozens of homely baboons scurried about alongside the road.

Dozens of homely baboons scurried about alongside the road.

Our game drive took us straight out of the park and onto our way home.
Stopped for Paper
Xavier stopped to buy a paper along the way, which is where I snapped the above photo. See the lady riding side-saddle to accommodate her skirt? The paper was in quaint English with lots of football (soccer) reporting as well as articles about so-and-sos daughter who had done well at school exams, a blind couple who had been married 25 years, a witch-doctor who had been thrown out of a taxi by the other passengers when they discovered he was in possession of a bag of live snakes etc., etc.

"Highest Quality Hair Additions". Chortle.

“Highest Quality Hair Additions”. Chortle.

Lunch was at this landscaped, roadside café. I had a hamburger that, as it was seasoned with chili powder, tasted slightly Mediterranean.

Lunch was at this landscaped, roadside café. I had a hamburger that, as it was seasoned with chili powder, tasted slightly Mediterranean.

Passing through a town.

Passing through a town.

On the way back, Xavier asked us many questions about the US and the differences between there and Uganda. As we talked, the discussion turned to worldview, culture, and politics. This got both Dr. T. and Xavier fired up especially once they discovered they held the same viewpoints and were kindred spirits on many issues! This lent an amusing soundtrack to the short clips I was videoing of the scenery passing by.
We arrived back at Kasana about two o’clock in the afternoon. The fellows quickly dashed off to participate in the football tournament being held that day. I leisurely got unpacked and took time to get my journal up-to-date. Wanting to take in as much as possible while I was at New Hope, I knocked on Auntie Virginia’s door to see if she could steer me in a direction. I ended up just spending time with her and Uncle Steve (when he came in) and they kindly shared with me some of their story and God’s continued direction and faithfulness in their lives in Uganda.

Uncle Elly blessed me with these beautiful flowers that afternoon.

Uncle Elly blessed me with these beautiful flowers that afternoon.

Then, it was time for supper and then I returned to Auntie Virginia’s to help her with the after-supper dishes. As we boiled water for washing we discovered that we share a mutual fondness for classic films!
When it was dark, I strolled down to the covered, Church/meeting area for the worship time they do once a month. That was grand a couple of hours! I sat between Ugandans as several of the teenage, young people led both Lugandan and English worship songs. Once again I loved the ability to respond in movement, clapping, and raising hands without feeling like a distraction. Got to meet a few members of Samuel Family on the short walk back to the guesthouse as well.
Sunday morning after spending some early morning devotional time, eating breakfast, and getting spruced up for church, I had some time to sit on the porch of the guesthouse and take in the beautiful day, the birds chirping, and the sounds of the worship team warming up with “Your Love is Amazing”.
Church itself was an inspiring few hours. It was so wonderful to see all these precious people, dressed in their finest (the Ugandans like bright colors and looking sharp!), crowded onto the wooden benches, to worship Jesus and hear about His Truth together. Everything was translated from English into Lugandan and when we sang in Lugandan the English words were in parentheses so everyone could follow along. Several people from the Institute led worship and Pastor Tim shared on not allowing a doubtful, complaining, or idolatrous spirit spring up in our hearts toward God as the Israelites did in the wilderness. One of the sweetest parts of the service was when Aunt Ketty, who had just been diagnosed with cancer, came forward with her husband and their young children. Uncle Geoff who just last year faced a battle with cancer testified about God’s awesome faithfulness and power and then he called people to come surround Aunt K. in prayer at which point nearly the whole church went forward! Then, it was Aunt Ketty’s turn to speak and she shared about how the Lord was comforting and teaching her and how that whether God chose to heal her by healing her physically or whether he chose to heal her by taking her Home to His presence, either way HE IS GOOD. It was amazing. And then, the worship team got up and the fellow leading suggested that in response to that he felt we should all proclaim, “How great is our God”. And the whole church just started singing that song a capella….which started the music worship time.
After Church, four of the young, single, American, ladies whisked me off to their house for a very yummy lunch. It was pleasant to have some time with just girls after traveling with just fellows so much. 😉
In the evening we had one last family time with Ebenezer Family. We went around the room sharing how we’d blessed each other in the few days we’d gotten to live life together and then it was time for some group photos!
When we got back to the guesthouse, the British couple were on the porch with their sponsor child Joseph (who was visiting from Kampala where he is spending his after-graduation, Investment Year) who had just brought out his guitar. That I couldn’t resist and we spent about an hour singing worship songs in the warm, night air. That was a very precious, perfect gift from the Father to me on my last night there! There we were, people from three different continents finding unity in praising Jesus together. I took a video of Joseph singing a Ugandan worship song and I find myself listening to it over and over because it so encapsulates the time there and the heart of New Hope.

Sacks at New Hope's maize mill.

Sacks at New Hope’s maize mill at the vocational school. The mill is very busy as it is the only one in the area.

Monday morning Uncle Dan appeared with the van to pick us up. We would be spending the day doing some souvineer shopping in Kampala before flying out from Entebbe late that evening. Uncle Steve and Aunt Virginia accompanied us as they had some errands to do in the city. Was glad to spend a little more time with them! It was funny how the word must’ve gotten out about a vehicle heading into Kampala because people kept showing up to ride with us. 🙂 Aunt Kathy came to the guesthouse, we picked up Aunt Susy on the road, and Uncle Ronald at New Hope’s vocational school where they teach mechanics, brick-laying, tailoring and weaving. Kathy was the friendly girl about my age that I’d met at the Hope (Baby) Family House on Thursday and I was delighted to get to know her a little better. She set next to me during the drive and told me about her family and life. I was impressed with her heart for the Ugandan people and the vision she had for practical ways that could improve things like education, housing, and agriculture. Kathy, Susy, and Ronald all got off at various points as we arrived in Kampala.
We headed on to two different market places that consisted of many small booth shops overflowing with African merchandise. It was a bit overwhelming at first – all the different objects for sale and the persistent sales people. I quickly learned not to appear too interested unless I actually wanted to buy something!
We had lunch at a café that specialized in all kinds of coffee. Coffee came free with your sandwich so I thought I might as well try it even though I never drink coffee. I found it quite tasty. Uncle Dan who prefers soda decided to try it as well and we had to tease him about how speedily his disappeared. 😉

Lake Victoria Hotel

Lake Victoria Hotel

We ate supper on the veranda of the fancy, old, Lake Victoria Hotel in Entebbe. It took our food quite a while to come out, so, consequently we spent a fair amount of time there. Everybody was in a silly mood and it was a fun, farewell meal together.
Once night arrived, the New Hope Family took us to the airport where it was time for final hugs and goodbyes. Sniffle.
Our trip home and all the details involved therein went smoothly. We did have an eight hour layover in Minneapolis that we wiled away by taking the city transport to the Mall of America. The guys suggested that I might be interested in different shops than them and so left me free to wander leisurely about the halls. Due to jet lag and my recent experiences I had absolutely no interest in buying anything. I did stop into a shoe store where the friendly sales-fellow was obligingly interested in my recent time in Uganda. I don’t think he was a Christian so it was rather a neat, little, ministry opportunity.
Once we got back to the airport I was so tired that I quite literally fell asleep sitting up. My weariness fell off though when I saw Mum and Dad and Mrs. Dr. T. waiting to greet us when we stepped off the plane. We all rode back to our hometown together and it was a fun start to the story-telling. The stories continued at home with my family until three o’clock in the morning!

So there is my tale. I sincerely fell in love with Uganda and wasn’t ready to leave when the two weeks were up. As a quiet soul who is fond of being home I was taken aback by that and the repeated sensation that Uganda felt like home. The scenery and the culture was beautiful and intriguing, but, it was truly the people that captured my heart. The thing is whenever people love Jesus than there is instantaneous family and so it does feel like Home. And I am amazed by the God who not only is the Creator of such marvelous beauty, but, also delights to redeem and restore such ugliness and loneliness into such loveliness and relationship. So what do I do with that?

Mom encouraged me in my return by reminding me that people in this town need Jesus just as desperately as people in Uganda and that that is definitely my mission too.  I’m also excited to continue to pray for as well as seek ways to stay involved with the ministry of New Hope Uganda; and to trust that God will bring about His perfect designs in that regard!

The lights of Minneapolis.

The lights of Minneapolis.

Thoughts?